Temp loss in a Mash Tun

Wed Mar 20, 2013 5:16 pm

Ive been brewing extract for about 10 years with some sucess. Silver in a local comp. (toot) I'm collecting pieces to move to all grain. I just picked up an Igloo 5gal cooler for a mash tun and was wondering what the best way is to figure out the strike water temp, mash temp, heat loss, thermal mass of the grain etc. without actually wasting money on grain to find all that out. Will filling up the cooler with heated water as per beer smith get me close to what to expect without the grain, or should I bite the bullet, buy grain, and see what happens?
My water tastes like shit, so I flavor it with malt, hops and yeast..Yum!
--Me
fluffhead

Re: Temp loss in a Mash Tun

Wed Mar 20, 2013 5:27 pm

If you're planning to batch sparge, which I recommend, Go to Brewheads.com and look at their batch sparge calculator. It's pretty spot on for me. I always pre-heat my cooler mash-tun so I can enter 0 for thermal loss and am always within a degree high or low. It calculates strike volume and temp, a mash out, and sparge volume for you.
"If God had intended us to drink beer, He would have given us stomachs."
Elbone

Wed Mar 20, 2013 5:38 pm

Thanks, good site with lots of good info and calculators. I guess the only way to find out, is to just do it. I hate wasting money though
My water tastes like shit, so I flavor it with malt, hops and yeast..Yum!
--Me
fluffhead

Wed Mar 20, 2013 6:00 pm

It isnt a waste of money. It is valuable experience and research.
Its the only way to learn your system and process.
Nothing to it really. Once you begin to trust what you read, hear, and do, its a breeze.
Do a stout or something else small.
Probably cost you 12 big bucks.
snowcapt

Thu Mar 21, 2013 12:31 am

I like to use a simple blonde recipe to dial things in. All 2-row, no specialty grains. 1.038-1.044 OG, 12-18 IBU's. It'll make that $12 stout look pricey :wink: