what am I doing wrong (wiring) Update

Sun Aug 30, 2009 6:40 pm

I have run into a road block while wiring up my contol box I finally was able to wire the main power plug so when I turn flip the main power switch I don't trip the breaker :oops: . What I have problems with is i have 2 single outlets for the pumps to plug in and I want them on a switch to power them on and off. This is what I have

switch

So Here is what I did and it does not work
connected black wire to brass screw on outlet to position 3 on switch
connected black wire postion 2 on switch to hot bus
white wire to silver screw on outlet to netrual bus
green wire to greeb screw on outlet to ground bus
greeb wire from postion 1 to ground bus

When I hit the switch I get no power to the outlet what am I doing wrong
Last edited by Droodles1 on Tue Sep 08, 2009 7:00 am, edited 1 time in total.
Droodles1

Re: what am I doing wrong (wiring)

Sun Aug 30, 2009 7:00 pm

I am not an electrician.

You only need two wires on that switch. Get rid of that green wire on the switch. I suspect that that is a SPDT switch with the center as the common, and when in the alternate position, the power on the input is connected to ground, tripping your breaker.

Tape up that now unused terminal on the switch because it'll have power on it in the alternate position.

After doing this, if you have no power then you've burned up your switch. You really need a VOM to verify the topology of the switch and that it still works.
code
codewritinfool

Sun Aug 30, 2009 7:53 pm

Does it blow the breaker in either position as it is currently wired? My guess is that it is like Code says or it is a SPST that uses a ground/neutral for the illumination.

Do you have a Volt/Ohm meter?
BadRock
Global Moderator

Sun Aug 30, 2009 8:03 pm

I am curious as to the voltage you are wiring this for. The outlet pictured is a 220V 20 amp outlet. Are you indeed wiring a 220 volt circuit?

Wayne
Bugeater Brewing Company
http://www.lincolnlagers.com